This is how I SIO-MAI love! :-)

Hello there! πŸ™‚

Today, I would like to share with you my very little siomai business… πŸ™‚

It’s been a while now since I attended a seminar on how to make commercialized siomai. Good thing, a very supportive friend of mine finally told me, “Hey, why don’t we make use of that knowledge of yours and sell siomai? You make it, I’ll sell it! :-)” Days before that, I’ve been telling her that I want to make siomai and sell it at our house to earn money. What I did was, I made a trial batch then gave some to my friend for her to taste and let others taste so that if they liked it,they can buy from us.

Yesterday, May 10, 2013, I did my very first siomai order… πŸ™‚ 200pcs for my friend’s friend and 150pcs for her cousin. We also made extra then packed it for her to market and sell.

We sell our siomai for php4.00 per piece, php3.50 for a minimum of 100pcs and php3.20 for a minimum of 200pcs (sauce not included).

To make low cost siomai, there are three parts: the BRINE solution, the EXTENDERS, and the FLAVORINGS. If you want to make your own siomai for personal consumption, you can do without the extenders… πŸ™‚ Brine is just salt water. But be carefull with the salt,you wouldn’t want to put too much salt in it… πŸ™‚ I use two types or salt: refined or iodized salt and curing or pink salt (this is what people use for processed meat to prolong its shelflife). The ratio I use is for every 1kilo of Pork, I have a brine that consists or 62.50grams of chilled water, 13grams of refined salt and 2grams of pink salt… πŸ™‚

The flavorings I believe is the key to success… πŸ™‚ If you live here in the Philippines, its likely that you have tasted even one siomai version, may it be at your favorite Chinese restaurant, at the mall, at a siomai stall located in the different stations of the MRT, in canteens/cafeterias/carinderias, or at sidewalks… πŸ™‚ If you haven’t, its fine. Make you’re own. Its always more flavorful that way… πŸ™‚

To separate my siomai from others, i made sure the flavor would stand out. I used 20g refined white sugar, 3g ground black pepper, 15g sesame oil (actually, i add a little more cause i’m addicted to it… πŸ˜€ hahaha!), 15g garlic, 50g carrots, 10g green onions, 25g turnip, 2g shrimp powder, and 1pc egg for every kilo of pork.

My flavorings... <3

Procedure A:

1. Mix 1 kilo of pork in brine until fully incorporated (about 3 minutes).

2. After the brine stage, add the pork mixture in your flavorings. Mix until the flavorings are equally distributed (about 8 minutes).

After mixing, you can now place about a teaspoon of mixture on your dumpling wrappers if you’re using the small one (about 2 1/2 x 2 1/2 inches) or about a spoon and a half if using the big one. πŸ™‚

Procedure B: (steaming)

1. Boil salt water on a steamer.

2. Once boiling, lower the heat just until the water is simmering, then steam your siomai for about 30 minutes.

3. Place in a container (without cover) then cool before placing in the refrigerator.

Siomai

There you go! πŸ™‚

Until next time! πŸ™‚

<3,

chefcams

4 thoughts on “This is how I SIO-MAI love! :-)

  1. What kind of shrimp powder? How much does 1 steamed siomai cost presently 2017? Do u also have recipies for chicken, beef, and shrimp siomai that are low cost?

Leave a Reply

